RICHLAND/ANGUS MUNICIPAL COURT
(903)362-1953

DRIVER SAFETY COURSE

Driver Safety Course

Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may request that one charge against you be dismissed by
taking a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course. HOWEVER, YOU WILL LOSE THIS
OPTION IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST IT IN PERSON OR IN WRITING BY YOUR APPEARANCE DATE AS SHOWN
ON YOUR CITATION. THE COURT DOES NOT ACCEPT A TELPHONE CALL AS AN APPEARANCE BEFORE
COURT. This option is available if you hold a valid Texas Driver’s License or permit (except a commercial
driver’s license) and show proof of financial responsibility. Additionally, if you are charged with speeding
25MPH or more above the posted limit, have used this option within the last 12-month period to dismiss
a charge, or are charged for a violation occurring in a work zone with workers present, you are not
eligible. If you wish to use this option to have this citation dismissed, complete the request form and
return it to the Court with the required fee and proof of insurance on or before your appearance date.
You have 90 days from date of request to provide the Court with required documentation showing
successful completion of an approved Driving Safety Course.

There is $144.00 court cost fee that is paid to the Municipal Court when a driver safety class is
requested. Defendants are required to find their own class and are required to attend a driving safety
course approved by the Department of Public Safety or the Texas Education Agency (class must be state
certified). The Municipal Court does not offer drivers safety classes. You are required to take the course
within 90 days from the date of the request. If you do not, the court will send you a notice requiring you
to return to court and explain why you failed to show proof of completion. Your failure to be present at
that hearing may result in a warrant for your arrest being issued.

You may download a Request for Drivers Safety Course Form here.

To submit the form online, click here.
If you do not meet these qualifications, please contact the Court at 903-362-1953 to discuss other options.
HOW DO | MAKE A REQUEST FOR DRIVER'’S SAFETY COURSE?
In person at: 103 W. Main St., Richland, TX 76681.

By Mail: Include the Court fee; copy of driver’s license; and a copy of insurance to above address. Please
provide a good mailing address.

To obtain the proper Court fee amount contact Court Clerk at 903-362-1953.
Request can also be put in the Drop box (located on the outside of Civic Center)

Submit an online request for a driver’s safety course.


https://www.richlandtexas.org/documents/480/DSCFORM.pdf
https://www.richlandtexas.org/documents/480/DSC_Request.pdf



